silikonmessenger.blogg.se

Serviio vs twonky
Serviio vs twonky







serviio vs twonky
  1. #Serviio vs twonky android
  2. #Serviio vs twonky software
  3. #Serviio vs twonky tv

Special mention however should go to Asset UPnP, which offers the most granular browsing capability by some margin (bitrate, composer, year, label, album artist etc….). To keep things simple and award points fairly just the basic browsing categories were required to gain a point here (Album, Artist, Genre). It should be noted that browsing categories vary greatly, with some offering a great deal more granularity than others. The criteria here was being able to browse and search the music library using the controller, one point being awarded if it had DLNA search capability as well basic browsing categories like Album Name, Artist Name. In fact it didn’t even index the album or recognise the tracks. I was surprised that Plex couldn’t play DSF/DSD. The other servers tested didn’t recognise the track or couldn’t play it. To score a point here the track must be played in it’s native format, with no transcoding/encoding.ĪssetUPnP, Emby, LMS, MiniDLNA/ReadyNAS, MinimServer (all variants) and Twonky passed the test, each scoring one point.

serviio vs twonky

This particular track was chosen for its high definition format DSF/DSD, encoded at 24bit 96khz. I tried a variety of tracks and file formats, but the real differentiator was successfully playing Deep Purple’s Time for Bedlam track from the Infinite album. The criteria here was to listen to my music in its native format and original quality, from the capable renderers around my home. I’m not going to score them any different, they all run on the Synology NAS, so they all score 1 point.

serviio vs twonky

  • MinimServer (v0.8 and 2.0 all variants)Īll of the music servers tested can run on a Synology NAS, some of them are installed from the default app store, others need additional repositories adding, and some can only run in docker.
  • Here are the UPnP/DLNA music servers being tested:

    #Serviio vs twonky software

  • I want the server software to be low cost, ideally free.
  • I want to see album/artist/genre art for my library within the controller.
  • I want to be able to browse and search my library using the controller.
  • I want to listen to my music in its native format and original quality, from the renderers mentioned above.
  • I want to run the music server on my NAS, a Synology DS3615xs.
  • There is no weighting to these requirements, they each get one point for every requirement satisfied: So without further a do, here are my requirements.

    #Serviio vs twonky android

    I’m using Hi-Fi Cast as the controller (which i highly recommend), running on a wireless android tablet.

    #Serviio vs twonky tv

    For testing, the renderers i will be using are a Yamaha MusicCast stereo, a Sony TV and a Windows PC. This guide will only address the server component. UPnP/DLNA has three components, the server, the renderer and the controller. Some of the music servers tested also serve video and photos and fall into the media server category, which is great but I’m only testing their merits on serving audio.įirst some terminology to get your head around. This review has been written by a tech enthusiast, not an audiophile, with my own personal requirements in mind, but since i went to great lengths testing every possible UPnP/DLNA Music Server i could find, i thought you might also benefit from my conclusions.









    Serviio vs twonky